Board of Directors

The ACLU of Wisconsin Board of Directors oversees the financial, strategic and executive operations of the organization, and provides fundraising support and vital statewide connections. Board members are elected by the ACLU of Wisconsin membership and serve three-year terms, with a third of the positions opening for election each year.


Mary Jo McBrearty, Statewide Board President

Mary Jo McBrearty has been a card-carrying member of ACLU since 1989 and a member of the ACLU-WI Board of Directors since 2012. Rather than a legal or academic background, Mary Jo was recruited to the Board because of her more than three decades of experience in philanthropy and not-for-profit management. She currently serves on the ACLU-WI Executive and Development Committees and participated in ACLU’s Biennial Leadership Conference in Seattle in June.

After graduating from Santa Clara University (CA) and relocating to Wisconsin, she served at the John Michael Kohler Arts Center (JMKAC) as Manager, Administrative Services and then Manager, Community Development with responsibility for annual corporate and foundation fundraising, membership, and special events. She then served as Administrative Director, Fund Development and Communications at Hospital Sisters Health System/St. Nicholas Hospital, where she was responsible for planning, organizing, and directing all Hospital fundraising efforts as well as supervising the marketing, community education, and volunteer services departments; she was also responsible for the Hospital’s advocacy efforts and social accountability/community benefit reporting.

Mary Jo returned to JMKAC and retired as the Chief Development Officer in November 2013. Mary Jo had been responsible for the strategic leadership and supervision and/or direct execution of all fundraising activities, including: individual, corporate, and foundation giving through major gifts, annual campaigns, and sponsorships; government grants; endowment and planned giving initiatives; and fundraising events. She is also a well-known community leader, having served on the Boards of Directors for the Sheboygan County YMCA and its Endowment Trust Board, American Association of University Women, Altrusa International Foundation, Manitou Girl Scout Council, Sheboygan Symphony Orchestra, Literacy Council, Plymouth Intergenerational Coalition, etc. She was recently recognized as a Key Leader for the YMCA in Wisconsin as well as the Volunteer of the Year at JMKAC.


Executive Committee

Mary Jo McBrearty, Sheboygan, President

Nichole Yunk Todd, Milwaukee, Vice President

Elliott Garb, Oshkosh, Treasurer

Jeralyn Wendelberger, Milwaukee, National Board Representative

Angela Lang, Milwaukee

Emily Bell, Milwaukee


Other Board Members

Martin Alvarado, Madison

Dr. Wayne Bentham, Appleton

William T. Crowley, Milwaukee, Affirmative Action Officer

Martin Gruberg, Oshkosh

James Hall, Jr., Milwaukee

Ann Heywood, Eau Claire

Roberta Hill, Barneveld

Bill Hotz, Waukesha

Jay Kronenwetter, Wausau

Mildred Larson, Eau Claire

Gabriela Leija, Milwaukee

William Lynch, Milwaukee

Ben Marquez, Madison

Christine Munson, Stevens Point

Ryan Reid, Green Bay

Sheri Swokowski, Madison

Brian Thompson, Bellville

Paul Williams, Milwaukee